Design Tip 2: Deleting and Restoring a List Item destroys Workflows

May 14, 2008 at 2:12 pm Leave a comment

I had several workflows in my web application that would start when a new item was created and then pause for a duration or wait for a field to change. The user would create an item, the workflow would start and then it would wait for the status field to equal Completed.

If you delete the list item, in my case it was by accident, and then restore the list item, the workflow remains in the waiting status forever.

Hopefully someone with some real in-depth SharePoint knowledge reads this and they can explain why it behaves this way?

Advertisements

Entry filed under: SharePoint Tips and Tricks. Tags: , , , , .

Design Tip 1: Hyperlinks Should Always Contain the Source Design Tip 3: Custom Actions on Form Buttons are just like Workflows

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



%d bloggers like this: